Grassington Dickensian Festival - 2010

Grassington Dickensian Festival
in the kitchen sm.jpg

Grassington House

Grassington House
monk bradford 5 sm.jpg

Bradford Jesus Man

Bradford Jesus Man
bradford film festival opening night image 114 sm.jpg

Bradford International Film Festival - 2011

Bradford International Film Festival


The 19th century saw Yorkshire’s continued growth, with the population growing and the Industrial Revolution continuing with prominent industries in coal, textile and steel (especially in Sheffield and Rotherham). However, despite the booming industry, living conditions declined in the industrial towns due to overcrowding, this saw bouts of cholera in both 1832 and 1848.  Fortunately for the county, advances were made by the end of the century with the introduction of modern sewers and water supplies. Several Yorkshire railway networks were introduced as railways spread across the country to reach remote areas.   County councils were created for the three ridings in 1889, but their area of control did not include the large towns, which became county boroughs, and included an increasing large part of the population.

During the Second World War, Yorkshire became an important base for RAF Bomber Command and brought the county into the cutting edge of the war.  In the 1970s there were major reforms of local government throughout the United Kingdom. Some of the changes were unpopular, and controversially Yorkshire and its ridings lost status in 1974  as part of the Local Government Act 1972.   The East Riding was resurrected with reduced boundaries in 1996 with the abolition of Humberside. With slightly different borders, the government office entity which currently contains most of the area of Yorkshire is the Yorkshire and the Humber region of England.  This region includes a northern slice of Lincolnshire, but omitsSaddleworth (now in Greater Manchester); the Forest of Bowland (Lancashire); Sedbergh and Dent (Cumbria); Upper Teesdale (County Durham) as well as Middlesbrough, and Redcar and Cleveland.

Throughout Yorkshire many castles were built during the Norman-Breton period, particularly after the Harrying of the North. These includedBowes Castle, Pickering Castle, Richmond Castle, Skipton Castle, York Castle and others.  Later medieval castles at Helmsley, Middleham andScarborough were built as a means of defence against the invading Scots.  Middleham is notable because Richard III of England spent his childhood there.  The remains of these castles, some being English Heritage sites, are popular tourist destinations.   There are several stately homes in Yorkshire which carry the name “castle” in their title, even though they are more akin to a palace The most notable examples areAllerton Castle and Castle Howard, both linked to the Howard family.   Castle Howard and the Earl of Harewood‘s residence, Harewood House, are included amongst the Treasure Houses of England, a group of nine English stately homes.